Shelby County Schools
   Calendars
   Careers
   Employee Benefits
   Employee Portal
   English Learners
   FAQ's
   Federal Rights
   General Information
   PowerSchool for
   Parents & Students
   PowerSchool for
   Teachers
   Prof. Learning &
   Development
   PTA
   Pre-Kindergarten
   SCEA
   Schools
   School Zone Locator
   SCS Media Library
   Student Handbook
   Superintendent
   Teacher Resources
   Weather Alerts
   Welcome
   Our Mission/Vision
   WWW Links
 
 

 

Operations Division

GOALS: Provide leadership and management related to all facets of system growth. Ensure that all physical facilities meet the high standards of design, construction, and appropriateness for the educational activities they are meant to foster. Maintain the physical school plants in a condition of operating excellence. Provide a safe and efficient school transportation program. Maintain the system’s technology equipment for efficiency and continuity of operation for instruction and business services. Protect assets and resources from potential losses.


P. Michael Simpson
Chief of Operations

msimpson@scsk12.org


Responsibilities:
  • Plans and oversees new school design and construction, renovations, additions, and campus improvements
  • Facilitates the coordination of these projects between outside agencies and school system Administration
  • Coordinates Emergency Response and Crisis Management Plan
  • Provides oversight for the Facilities Services Department
  • Provides oversight for the Planning Department
  • Provides oversight for the Transportation Department
  • Provides oversight for Risk Management



FACILITIES SERVICES DEPARTMENT


  • Responsible for 52 schools plus administrative buildings
  • Maintains almost 7,000,000 square feet of floor space
  • Maintains approximately 1,100 acres of campuses

John Smith, Director
j9smith@scsk12.org

  • Capital Projects
  • Construction
  • Electrical
  • Energy Management
  • Fire Alarms
  • Glazier
  • HVAC/Refrigeration
  • Intrusion Alarms
  • Locks/Doors
  • Plumbing
  • Purchasing
  • Network management (work orders, Security, Energy Management, School Nutrition)
  • Risk Management
  • Roofing
  • Technology Support Service
  • Vehicle Maintenance/Repair

Troy Wilbanks, Capital Projects Manager
twilbanks@scsk12.org

  • New Construction
  • Renovations
  • Additions
  • Portables
  • Carpentry
  • Painting

Jalona Edwards, Technology Support Manager
j2edwards@scsk12.org

  • Service Desk
  • District-wide Desktop Support
  • Networking Support
  • Nutrition Systems Support
  • Library Systems Support
  • Bookkeeping Systems Support
  • Bus Fleet GPS Systems Support
  • Special Event Technical Support
  • Facilities & Technology Project Coordination

George Dean, General Foreman
gdean@scsk12.org

  • Contracted Custodial Services
  • Environmental Control
  • Equipment Operators
  • Grounds/Deliveries
  • Plant Managers
  • Small Engine Repairs

Martin Edwards, General Foreman
medwards@scsk12.org

  • Contracts
  • Inspections
  • Parts Warehouse
  • State Local Reports
  • Vendors
  • Plumbing
  • General Crafts
art Return art

PLANNING DEPARTMENT


  • Enrollment Projections
  • Attendance Zones (click here)
  • Mapping Services
  • Facility Needs Assessment
  • Development and Implementation of CIP
 

Nedra Jones, Planning Specialist
njones@scsk12.org

Zinnia Ron-Ferguson, GIS Technician
zron-ferguson@scsk12.org



Attendance Zone Maps for 2011-12 School Year:
The following maps are in Adobe Acrobat PDF format. Click on the desired map to view, print and/or download it.

Elementary School Zones 2011-12 - pdf

Middle School Zones 2011-12 - pdf

High School Zones 2011-12 - pdf



art Return art

TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT


  • Operates 316 buses
  • Transports approximately 23,000 students (over half of total enrollment)
  • Routes cover over 3,800,000 miles annually
 

Debora Rike, Director
drike@scsk12.org

Michelle Beasley, Supervisor
mbeasley@scsk12.org

Veronica Norfleet, Supervisor
vnorfleet@scsk12.org

Anita Swindle, Supervisor
aswindle@scsk12.org

W. R. Barnes, CDL/Safety Specialist
wbarnes@scsk12.org

art Return art


RISK MANAGEMENT

Frank King, Risk Manager

fking@scsk12.org

Responsibilities:

  • Provides oversight of the Risk Management Strategies
  • Works with vendors and coordinates the purchase of insurance
  • Investigates safety concerns and facilitates correction action
  • Investigates on-the-job accidents/illnesses and inspects work sites and all properties for exposure to risk of loss
  • Develops and implements an Accident Prevention Plan
  • Develops and conducts industrial safety training presentations
  • Works collaboratively with various community partners such as local law enforcement and emergency preparedness agencies in the event of natural disasters
art Return art