MSCS Named a Level 5 School District

For the first time since the 2014-15 school year, Memphis-Shelby County Schools (MSCS) is a Level 5 school district, the highest distinction available based on TVAAS composite scores. Student performance in both Literacy and Numeracy also earned a Level 5.

The Tennessee Value-Added Assessment System (TVAAS) measures students' academic growth over time. Its focus is student growth rather than student proficiency on the state assessment. TVAAS helps educators identify best practices, implement programs that best meet the needs of their students, and make informed decisions about where to focus resources to ensure growth opportunities for all students.

A Level 5 composite means we are successfully moving students toward proficiency and beyond. We understand not all students start at the same place. Significant growth, as characterized by a Level 5, means our students are rebounding from the negative impacts of the pandemic, our teachers are effectively helping students to reach academic goals, and our curriculum plan is getting results.

“This is the first time since the 2014-15 school year that our District has earned Level 5 distinction, which is the highest ranking available,” said MSCS Deputy Superintendent Dr. Angela Whitelaw. “We are proud of this honor because it affirms that our strategies and teachers are helping students make academic gains.”

"Memphis-Shelby County Schools is trending up. We’re working to continue those trends this year, and we’ve made significant investments in tutoring, smaller early elementary class sizes, teacher retention, and summer programs,” said MSCS Deputy Superintendent Dr. John Barker.

In addition to District performance, 75 MSCS-managed schools and 28 MSCS Charter schools earned a Level 5 distinction.

See more details and the full Level 5 list in the infographic. 

Additionally, 10 MSCS-managed schools earned a Level 4 Composite:

A. B. Hill ESGermantown MS
Bethel Grove ESGrandview Heights MS
Bruce ESHavenview MS
Double Tree ESHighland Oaks MS
Dunbar ESRaleigh-Egypt MS

To learn more about TVAAS, please watch this video.

View this profile on Instagram

Memphis-Shelby County Schools (@mscsk12) • Instagram photos and videos

Memphis-Shelby County Schools offers educational and employment opportunities without regard to race, color, religion, sex, creed, age, disability, national origin, or genetic information.