Memphis City Schools



Most Recent Notable Accomplishments
  • Recognized as a Tennessee Reward School for 2017-2018
  • Recognized as a National Magnet School of Excellence by Magnet Schools of America
  • Top 5 ranking for the last five years in National Math and Science League competitions
  • Top 10 national ranking in the American Mathematics Competition
  • 1st place in Tennessee and Southeast Region in eCYBERMISSION STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) competition
  • Top ranking in Algebra I and Geometry in Tennessee Mathematics Teachers' Association contest
  • Numerous other local, state, and national awards in academics and performing arts
  • WSMS 7th and 8th Grade Chess Team placed 2nd in the Junior High Division in the State Chess Finals.
  • Over 1/3 of the WSMS 7th Grade Optional Students took the DUKE TIP ACT test. Eleven of those students met the requirements for Grand Recognition (scored at or better than 90 percent of recent high school graduates on at least one part of the ACT or SAT). Forty eight of those students met the requirement for State Recognition. 
  • WSMS Debate Team won 1st, 3rd, 5th, 7th and 10th place in the SCS local competition.
  • WSMS Quiz Bowl team participated in invitationals and competitions throughout the year and gained significant recognition in the following:
    • November 2018 - White Station HS Tournament - 16 Teams from Midsouth
      • WSMS had teams finishing 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th
    • April 2019 - Gallatin Spring Invitational - 44 Teams from Middle TN
      • WSMS had teams finishing 1st, 6th, 8th, 9th


Memphis City Schools does not discriminate in its programs or employment on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, handicap/disability, sex, or age.  For more information, please contact the Office of Equity Compliance at (901) 416-6670.
Memphis City Schools homepage