Showing results for: Array

    Published: Sep 11, 2013

    Five New Schools To Join I-Zone

    Memphis, Tenn. – Shelby County Schools (SCS) is excited to announce the addition of five schools to the district’s Innovation Zone (I-Zone). 


    The following schools will join the I-Zone in the 2014-15 school year:


    •    Grandview Heights Middle School

    •    Hamilton High School

    •    Melrose High School

    •    Trezevant High School

    •    Vance Middle School


    The I-Zone is a group of schools across the Shelby County district that are among those most in need of improvement in terms of academics. I-Zone schools are run by the district’s innovation department, but with different management models than traditional schools, and with greater attention to remedies that will increase academic performance.


    I-Zone schools are among those SCS schools ranked in Tennessee's bottom five percent for academic achievement. The SCS Innovation Department is responsible for raising achievement scores at these schools to the top 25 percent in the state within a period of five years. 


    In the 2012-13 school year, I-Zone schools in Shelby County had double-digit gains in reading, math, science and social studies, outperforming all other I-Zones in Tennessee.


    “We’re excited to build upon the success of last year’s I-Zone," said Bradley Leon, SCS chief of innovation. "Dr. Sharon Griffin, the I-Zone regional superintendent, and her team have demonstrated tremendous leadership. I have full confidence that we will continue to help more and more students reach their potential.”  


     The complete list of SCS I-Zone schools includes:


    •    Cherokee Elementary

    •    Douglass (K-8)

    •    Fairley Elementary

    •    Ford Road Elementary

    •    Lucie Campbell Elementary

    •    Magnolia Elementary

    •    Treadwell Elementary

    •    Chickasaw Middle

    •    Geeter Middle

    •    Grandview Heights Middle (2014-15)

    •    Hamilton Middle

    •    Riverview Middle

    •    Sherwood Middle

    •    Treadwell Middle


    •    Vance Middle School (2014-15)


    •    Hamilton High (2014-15)

    •    Melrose High School (2014-15)

    •    Trezevant High School (2014-15)



    For more information about the SCS I-Zone,

    go to:


    Shelby County Schools • 160 S. Hollywood St. • Memphis, TN • 38112 Main: • (901) 416-5300 •
    Shelby County Schools offers educational and employment opportunities without regard to race, color, religion, sex, creed, age, disability, national origin, or genetic information.